homepage logo

Culver adds more counties to disaster list

By Staff | Jul 2, 2010

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) – Gov. Chet Culver has added four more counties to a disaster emergency proclamation because of severe weather.

He added Cherokee, Mahaska, Polk and Warren counties on Monday. The proclamation will allow the counties to use state resources to deal with the aftermath of the storms.

Fourteen counties are now on the list, which also includes Ringgold, Union, Taylor, Hancock, Wright, Franklin, Decatur, Marion, Monroe and Sioux.

Grants are available to assist eligible county residents. More information is available on the state’s Department of Human Services’ website.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page