homepage logo

ICPB elections set July 10

By Staff | May 3, 2012

JOHNSTON – Corn growers in crop reporting districts 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8 will vote July 10 at their county Extension offices for representatives to serve on the Iowa Corn Promotion Board.

Each winner will serve a three-year term representing corn growers from their respective crop reporting districts.

Anyone who has produced and marketed 250 bushels of corn or more in Iowa in the previous year is eligible to vote in the election. Producers unable to visit an Extension office on July 10 may vote by absentee ballot. Absentee ballots will be available from May 24 to June 27 by contacting the ICPB office at (515) 225-9242. All absentee ballots must be postmarked by July 10.

Current candidates within the Farm News coverage area include:

  • Crop district No.1

Kurt Harms from George in Lyon County; and Gary Small from Rembrandt in Buena Vista County.

  • Crop district No. 2

Deb Keller from Clarion in Wright County.; and Chris Weydert from Algona in Kossuth County.

  • Crop district No. 4

Larry Klever from Audubon in Audubon County.; and David Leiting from Carroll in Carroll County.

  • Crop district No. 5

John Brockman from Melbourne in Marshall County; and Kevin Rempp from Montezuma in Poweshiek County .

Other corn producers interested in running for the board may get their names onto the ballot by filing a nomination petition with the ICPB no later than 4:30 p.m. on May 14. Completed petitions must be signed by 25 corn producers from the prospective candidate’s district and notarized.

For more information on the ICPB or director elections, contact the ICPB office at (515) 225-9242.

Counties in crop district No. 1: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas and Sioux.

Counties in crop district No. 2: Butler, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, Worth and Wright.

Counties in crop district No. 4: Audubon, Calhoun, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie, Harrison, Ida, Monona, Sac, Shelby and Woodbury.

Counties in crop district No. 5: Boone, Dallas, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Jasper, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama and Webster.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page