homepage logo

Farm Bureau elects new state leaders

By Staff | Dec 15, 2012

Phil Sundblad, of Albert City, will represent District 3.

WEST DES MOINES – Joe Heinrich, of Maquoketa, was re-elected vice president of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation at the organization’s 94th annual meeting Dec. 4-5 in Des Moines.

County delegates also re-elected two district directors to the board – Carlton Kjos, District 1, of Decorah, and Phil Sundblad, District 3, of Albert City. The board also elected challenger Mark Buskohl, of Grundy Center, as director of District 5.

Heinrich was voted as vice president of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation in 2011. He served as a member of the IFBF board of directors, representing District 6 in eastern Iowa. He and his family run a dairy and beef cow-calf farm with his nephew. Together, their diversified farm also grows corn, soybeans, oats and hay.

Sundblad represents District 3, which consists of 12 counties in northwest Iowa. He was first elected to the position in 2000. Before Sundblad was elected to the board in November 2000, he served in various leadership positions for the Buena Vista County Farm Bureau, including president, vice president, voting delegate and treasurer.

Sundblad currently serves as president of a locally-owned wind farm in Palo Alto County – Crosswind Energy LLC. He is chairman of the Food Board for Albert City Threshermen and Collectors; chairman of IOWA AgSTATE and is active in his local church.

Dave Seil, of Gowrie, was elected to the internal study committee to complete a one-year term.

He and his wife, Brenda, have a corn and soybean operation. They have two children.

The IFBF delegates also elected five members to represent Iowa at the 2013 American Farm Bureau Federation convention in Nashville, Tenn. They are Jim Boyer of Ringsted, David Hommel of Eldora, Kevin Krumwiede of Ledyard, Karen Seipold of Hastings and Kyle Holthaus of Waukon.

Dave Seil, of Gowrie, in Webster County, was elected to the internal study committee to complete a one-year term vacated by Mark Buskohl. The internal study committee serves as a liaison between the county Farm Bureau voting delegates and the state board of directors.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page