homepage logo

Four NW Iowa counties in disaster areas

By Staff | May 9, 2013

DES MOINES (AP) – Farmers in four northwest Iowa counties are eligible for low-interest emergency loans after the U.S. Department of Agriculture issued a major disaster declaration on Monday for the area.

Farmers with losses in Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon and Osceola counties resulting from severe winter storms on April 9, 10 and 11 may apply for emergency loans carrying an interest rate of less than 2.4 percent.

The money will help replace lost livestock, fruit and nut trees, and perennial crops. They also may repair or replace damaged or destroyed essential farm buildings.

The Farm Service Agency said the four Iowa counties are eligible because they are contiguous with five Minnesota counties designated as a primary disaster area.

Farmers must apply for the loans by Jan. 3.

In late April, 22 Iowa counties became eligible for low-interest emergency loans since after being declared winthin a federal agricultural disaster area, or they were next to declared counties.

Some qualify because of freezing temperatures in April 2012 and some because of the drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture said farmers affected by freezing temperatures last April in Dickinson, Emmet and Osceola counties must apply for the loans by Aug. 5.

Farmers in Decatur, Fremont, Page Ringgold and Taylor are eligible due to the drought and must apply by Sept. 9.

Other drought eligible counties include Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie and Woodbury.

Deadline for application is Dec. 10.

Kossuth County and seven contiguous counties also are eligible.

The deadline for making application there is Nov. 20.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page