homepage logo

ICA names young producers part in 2014 beef leadership program

By Staff | Mar 8, 2014

AMES – Twenty-four young Iowa cattle producers state are participating in the 2014 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program.

The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association program is designed to develop personal, organizational, and community-focused leadership qualities in young producers.

The first meeting of the group focused on learning more about each other, the Iowa Beef Industry headquarters, and talking with state agency leaders and Iowa legislators.

Participants from the Farm News coverage area are, by county:

A). Carroll – Kyle Musfeldt, of Coon Rapids; and Brian Behrens, of Templeton.

B). Clay – Cole and Mandy Danner, of Curlew; Clinton and Kendall Claeys, of Calamus; and Tyler Adrian, of Delmar.

C). Crawford – Robert Riesselman, of Manning; Davis and Aaron Amstutz, of Bloomfield.

D). Fayette Mark Putney, Elgin; and Fremont Jeremy Walter, Farragut.

E). Greene – Justin Robbins, of Scranton.

F). Hardin – Josh Hobson, of Eldora;

G). Marshall – Austin Gacke, of Melbourne; Montgomery and Josh Reed, of Red Oak.

H). Sioux – Vaughan Ranschau, of Rock Valley.

The second event for the group will be held Friday and Saturday.

The event will be in Ames with a focus on leadership training provided by Alan Feirer, of Winterset.

Feirer has provided training across the country as well as with many association groups in Iowa.

The YCLP members will meet for three additional meetings in 2014 – June 10 to 11, Aug. 29 to 30 and Dec. 8 to 10.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page