homepage logo

NEW Co-op issues 2015 scholarships

By Staff | Jan 3, 2016

FORT DODGE (NEW Cooperative) – The 43rd annual meeting of NEW Cooperative Inc. included the co-op issuing seven scholarships. The event was held Dec. 8 at the Webster County Fairgrounds.

More than 350 members turned out for the dinner event.

The 2015-16 NEW Cooperative Scholarship Recipients were recognized and awarded scholarship certificates.

They are Matt Aden, Jacob Clark, Taylor Hintch, Brett Holtorf, Jacob Lauver, Tristan Seil and Celeste Swanson.

Dan Dix, general manager; and Brian Wagner, board president; highlighted the fiscal year with an emphasis on the increase in both local net savings and capital asset additions over the past five years.

Dean Lemke, director of the Nutrient Management and Environmental Stewardship for the Agribusiness Association of Iowa, was the guest speaker of the night.

Lemke covered water quality issues and gave some insight to the members specifically on the Des Moines Water Works lawsuit.

Voting ballots were collected and counted, and the results of the 2016 Board of Director elections were determined.

Roger Nelson, Troy Melohn and Roger Coon were re-elected to each serve another three-year team.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page