homepage logo

Iowa Select’s Sorenson named NPPC V.P.

By Staff | Mar 15, 2019

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Jen Sorenson of Ankeny was elected vice president of the National Pork Producers Council at the organization’s annual meeting, the National Pork Industry Forum – held March 7-8 in Orlando, Fla.

Sorenson will serve alongside David Herring, a pork producer from Lillington, N.C., and AV Roth, a pork producer from Wauseka, Wis., who were elevated to president and president-elect of the organization, respectively.

Sorenson is communications director for Iowa Select Farms, where she has worked for seven years, with responsibility for all facets of internal and external communications, media relations, public relations and industry outreach. She also manages the activities of the Deb and Jeff Hansen Foundation. (The Hansens own Iowa Select.)

Prior to joining Iowa Select, she worked in the communications departments at the Iowa Pork Producers Association, Christensen Farms and McCormick Company.

In addition to serving on the NPPC board of directors the past two years, Sorenson is a member of the board of the Iowa Pork Producers Association, where she is on the Issues Management Task Force and the Public Relations Committee. With NPPC, she chairs the Labor Security Task Force, serves on the Budget Committee and chairs the joint NPPC-National Pork Board We Care Task Force.

A graduate of Iowa State University, where she received degrees in animal science and journalism, Sorenson in 2018 was awarded the Outstanding Young Professional Alumni award from ISU’s College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

About NPPC

NPPC is the global voice for the U.S. pork industry, protecting the livelihoods of America’s 60,000 pork producers, who abide by ethical principles in caring for their animals, in protecting the environment and public health and in providing safe, wholesome, nutritious pork products to consumers worldwide. For more information, visit www.nppc.org.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page