homepage logo

ICGA recognized members receiving the 2019 Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards

By Staff | Aug 27, 2019

JOHNSTON – Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) congratulates 18 members and their families who received the 2019 Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards and were recognized during a ceremony held at the Iowa State Fair.

This award is a joint effort between Governor Reynolds, Lieutenant Governor Gregg, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and Iowa Department of Natural Resources. It was created to identify farmers who are committed to water quality and soil health. Each recipient has demonstrated excellent voluntary efforts to help keep Iowa’s water clean and soils healthy. Those selected from ICGA membership under the Farm News readership area are as follows:

Bunker Hill Inc.: Steve & Judy Bunkers, Plymouth County; Dyle & Barbara Erickson, Humboldt County; Coyote HillFarms, Inc.: Bob & Judy Floss, Jasper County; Laverne Greving Family Farm, Carroll County; Jeff and Barbara Heil, Marshall County; Rick and Jennifer Steuben, Clay and Dickinson Counties; Jeff True, Calhoun County and Joel Zeman, Humboldt County

This is just one of many examples of how ICGA members are leading the way on Iowa’s water quality efforts. Iowa Corn also offers a monthly Stewardship Advocate e-newsletter to help them stay current with news and events related to conservation on their farms. The program features monthly updates from Iowa Corn Sustainable Program Manager, Ben Gleason, and other experts on the topics of soil health, conservation, and water quality. Go to www.iowacorn.org/water for more information.

About ICGA

The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a 7,500 member strong grassroots-driven organization, headquartered in Johnston, Iowa, serving members across the state, and lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its farmer members to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. For more information, visit iowacorn.org.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page